More Than a Job

I read this quote this morning and it really made me think.

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.” –Steve Jobs

I feel that work should be more than just a job. It should be something we look forward each day and love doing. Steve Jobs is right. Work does fill a huge part of our lives. I know I started working when I was 16 years old. Retirement is supposedly 65 years old, but I hear many people don’t retire until they’re almost 70. If it’s going to be a while before I retire, I want to be doing something I love. I don’t want to be miserable for decades. I’m sure no one else wants to be miserable either.

I get we need to provide for our family. It’s true. We may have to struggle in the beginning because we have to put food on the table and the job we have is not the greatest. However, if we start working towards a goal and breaking down the steps we need to take to reach that goal. I believe anyone can have the job they love and live the life they want. Anything is possible.

I remember watching this video and someone made this comment about working for free as long as you love the job. It makes a lot of sense to me. If you love what you’re doing everything should fall into place. There are plenty of quotes about rather doing something you love and make no money than make tons of money and be unhappy. I think doing something you love that you can be creative in a way to generate the income needed to provide for your family. In the beginning, it probably won’t be easy, but it will take patience to accomplish what you dreamt of.

Business owners don’t become rich overnight. They probably had more expenses than income in the beginning years. However, if they loved what they are doing then they would be able to do what’s necessary to build the business to what they intended. BAM! They are living their dreams.

Let’s take time for ourselves to figure out what we really want in life and do what we really love.

Leave a Reply

