My First Day of Kindergarten

Some of you may not know this, but English is my second language. My parents are Vietnamese and they didn’t speak English so I didn’t learn it. From age 0 to 4, I only spoke Vietnamese. I did not learn English until I went to kindergarten. Let’s just say that was a scary day for me.

I remember this day well. I took the bus to school and was dropped off. I was so nervous walking into the building. I was so lost; I didn’t know where my class was located. I wandered around the whole building. I had many teachers come up offering help. The problem was I couldn’t communicate back with them. I had no idea what they were saying to me.

I remember being so scared and frustrated that they could not understand me. I was able to tell them my name and they were able to get me to the correct class. I remember seeing my classmates and I felt so out of place. I felt like I didn’t belong. All I wanted was to go home. I didn’t want to come back to school.

Ahh, so most are probably waiting for a happy ending to this story. Well, this was my first day of kindergarten and it was not a happy ending. However, the story does continue as I attend each day of kindergarten. More to tell later 🙂

Leave a Reply

